Session 118: Art History–Trench Art


I happened upon an episode of American Pickers a few months ago while I was on vacation. The guys found a ship replica and took it to an art historian to learn more about it. They learned that it was trench art–a creation made in times of war by soldiers, with materials available to them. This website: http://www.trenchartofww1.co.uk/index.html along with this article: https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Trench_art describes it better than I can, and I encourage you to check it out. This is an old example of art therapy that I never knew existed, and I find fascinating. Not only did these soldiers make things using shell casings or woodworking, they also did embroidery and sewing as a part of their recovery.

I thought this was a good subject for today, Memorial Day. Many of you are fighting your own personal battles, and I want you to know that you are not alone. No matter how much you are hurting, taking time to move and create can help to bring you a little peace when life seems to be pushing you down.

Take some time today to create something that reflects the trench art theme.

Leave a Reply

